To Do List

22 Sep

Climbing a mountain has been on my ‘Life’s To Do List’ for as long as I can remember.  In my quarter century-plus on this planet, I’ve climbed a few mountains, or what some may argue big hills, but nonetheless:

The Aonach Eagach Ridge in Scotland

The Enclosure next to the Grand Teton in Wyoming

Mt. Fuji in Japan

Regardless of the mountains I’ve climbed and the mountains I intend to climb, I can’t seem to cross this particular item off my To Do list.  Contemplating this on my run this morning, I decided that I welcome this perennial challenge on my To Do list.

Mountain climbing, whatever the size of your hill or peak, reminds us that ever day we seek to accomplish our goals and check one more item off our To Do list.

  • Change oil in the car
  • Make cookies for this weekend
  • Fix dinner
  • Change jobs
  • Write marketing plan
  • Prepare for sales meeting presentation
  • Etc., etc., etc.

And the list goes on.  Personal or professional, admit it, we’ve all got a To Do list. But have you ever noticed that not matter how diligently you work on crossing items off, new one’s appear?  In reality, there will always be on more item on the to do list.  But rather than hating the constantly growing list, I think that if you’ve found your passion, some of the items on the To Do list become like mountain climbing.  There will always be on more mountain to climb, one more peak to bag and one more summit to see but you’re not at all upset that you simply can’t cross it off the list.  And I’m ok with that.

What’s on your Life’s To Do list?

3 Responses to “To Do List”

  1. DirtProof September 22, 2010 at 8:42 PM #

    Love your wafflicious philosophy! My to-do list includes coming out to CO to hang out with you!!!! :-)

  2. Loretta Kleist September 23, 2010 at 4:51 PM #

    Hi Waffles,
    I never read a blog before. Nice Job. eep it up.

  3. Robin September 23, 2010 at 7:31 PM #

    I agree with Dirt Proof. A trip to CO (and, of course, mountain climbing) is on my to-do list.
    Beautiful pictures!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

