Crafty Lady

28 Sep

This past weekend I attended a high school friend’s daughter’s first birthday party (did you get all that?). This being my first ‘First Birthday party’ aside from the birthday I had when I turned one, I really had no clue what to get, make, or bring for a modern day toddler.  Rather flummoxed and needing a unique birthday gift I turned to the craftiest person I know – my Mom!

My Mom is a crafty lady.  As a kid, when school was cancelled due to snow and my brother and I tired of making snow angels, Mom was always ready with some cool art activity or crafty project.  She even wrote a book about fun art activities for kids of all ages that require minimal utensils and ingredients but provide hours of fun. Being the saint she is, all the proceeds from the book sales go to Healthy Moms and Babes, a local Cincinnati, OH/Northern Kentucky charity helping foster the health of mothers, children and families.

With my brother and I grown and no longer needing snow day entertainment, my Mom put her talents to work professionally.  For the past eleven years she has worked as a Kenton County Kentucky 4-H Youth Development Agent.

Everyday she puts her two Bachelors degrees and one Masters degree to work with local kids teaching them about everything from entrepreneurship to sewing.  Now those are tax dollars well spent!

Even after all these years, I’m glad I can still call on my Mom, the crafty lady, for help. We put our heads together, took a quick trip to the fabric cabinet and pattern drawer and came up with a plan…

…a vintage tote bag with modern fabric and a personalized touch.

Happy Birthday Maya (mmm, yummy cake!)

2 Responses to “Crafty Lady”

  1. Robin September 29, 2010 at 9:48 AM #

    That’s AWESOME! What a great gift! I’d totally glue/sew/staple my fingers together. I admire your craft courage! ;-)

  2. Mom October 6, 2010 at 7:48 AM #

    Thanks for a sweet tribute and a plug for HMB. They need all the financial support we can give them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

