Makin’ Waffles

14 Sep

Waffles on the Boardwalk was born during my last few days as a marketing manager for a higher education publisher.  I chose to resign from my 60-plus hour-a-week position for various reasons, but the most important reason being that I wanted to pursue my passion of working in the outdoors industry.  Even before graduating college I’d dreamt of working in the outdoors industry but didn’t fully know how to make that dream a reality.

So, I decided to pursue some of my other passions at the time — sales and education.  After graduation I went to work for a higher education publisher selling textbooks to colleges and universities.  For almost six years I traveled the country visiting with college professors, students, and administrators seeing higher education from a different perspective.  Most of the time, I loved my job and eventually I was promoted from sales to marketing.  But my passion to pursue a career in the outdoors resurfaced time and again.  Then, during a conversation with my brother I realized that I needed to be bold and to truly pursue my passion I had to jump feet first into the decision and quit tip-toeing around it.

Hence, the resignation.  Yes, resignation with no other job lined up, living in New York City in a teeny tiny, expensive apartment. But yes, the best decision ever.

As the news spread throughout the office one colleague approached me and said,

“Liz, I wish I’d done what you are doing!”

“Really, what do you mean?” I replied.

Kate, my former colleague, explained that she wished she had spent a summer on the Jersey Shore making waffles on the boardwalk.  And with this catchy phrase, I got to thinking…

And, at some point in each of our lives, I hope we all realize that we have a choice to make our own Waffles on the Boardwalk. Further, I hope with that realization comes the courage to pursue those passions.  Looking back, education continues to be a passion of mine but I understand that how I choose to pursue and support this passion has changed.  On the other hand, sales remains for me a true passion and I hope that in the future I will be able to put my sales talents to use again.

Here’s to pursuing your passion, one sweet or savory bite at a time.  Go make your Waffles on the Boardwalk!

4 Responses to “Makin’ Waffles”

  1. Kate Moore September 19, 2010 at 7:40 PM #

    Hey, Ms. Liz…I LOVE IT!!! And, I am thrilled to have served, in some way, as the inspiration for your blog. I may not have spent my summer making waffles on the boardwalk, but I’m having a wonderful time these days figuring out just who I want to be when I grow up. I’m always game for coming into the city for a beer or two. Let me know when it will work for you. Chase those dreams, Girl!

  2. theresavankirk September 23, 2010 at 3:17 PM #

    Thank you for sharing your life with me!

  3. theresa vankirk October 15, 2010 at 11:49 AM #

    Hi Liz, I really enjoy your blog and I really enjoyed the piece about your Mom. I really liked the pic of you and your Dad! Hope you can come to Copper! Could you come up here either Oct. 22 or Oct. 29 w/e? Let me know! Lov, Theresa

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Going West! « Waffles on the Boardwalk - October 10, 2010

    […] (literally and figuratively) — a journey that began months ago when I quit my old job to pursue my passion.  Thankfully, the journey continues!  But in the meantime, here are a few […]

Leave a Reply

